Connecticut Directory of Divorce Mediation and Mediators

Divorce Mediation provides a directory of mediators and arbitrators available to provide assistance both through the court system and independently. ADR, alternative dispute resolution, often provides an accelerated result with greater cooperation in addition to less contention and cost to both parties.  

Mediation is an informal, voluntary process in which a mediator, trained in facilitation and negotiation techniques, assists all parties to reach a mutually acceptable conclusion. What distinguishes mediation from other forms of dispute resolution, principally litigation in court and arbitration, is that the mediator does not impose a solution but rather assists the parties to create their own understanding. Mediated agreements, especially in situations involving families and divorce, often include unique solutions tailored to specific situations that are not available in arbitration or litigation through the court system.

The actual process of mediation is flexible and creative varying with the needs of the parties involved and the methods used by the mediator.  While the parties may meet face to face to discuss the issues involved, it is also possible that private caucus, physically separated from the other party, can be useful in reaching a compromise.  Private caucus in mediation can be used to send messages, clarify a position, ask questions and tender proposals, offers and counter offers to either party.  Mediation is non-binding unless both parties agree to a settlement.  

Find a mediator and/or arbitrator in your state from the following list:

A

Barbara Aaron, JD [Co-President Elect, CCDM, 2004-05]
Berman, Bourns, Aaron & Dembo
970 Farmington Ave.
West Hartford, CT 06127-1837
baaron@westhartfordlaw.com
ph:(860) 232-4471
fax:(860) 523-4605

Gerard Adelman, JD
Weigand, Mahon & Adelman
636 Broad Street
Meriden, CT 06450
adelman@wmalawyer.com
ph:(203) 238-1010
fax:(203) 630-1930
WEB: www.wmalawyer.com

B

Michael Becker
Attorney Mediator
1 Kings Highway North
Westport, CT 06880-3002
michael@michaelbecker.net
ph:(203) 454-4270
fax:(203) 454-4467
www.michaelbecker.net

Elizabeth Bergen, Ph.D.
215 Main St.
Westport, CT 06880
ebphd@optonline.net
ph: (203) 838-5750
fax: (203) 838-5890
Susan K. Boardman, Ph.D.
280 Mountain Rd.
Wilton, CT 06897
mediate@bestweb.net
ph:(203) 761-8611
fax:(203) 761-8611
mediate@bestweb.net

Courtney B. Bourns, JD
Berman, Bourns, Aaron & Dembo
970 Farmington Avenue
West Hartford, CT 06127-1837
cbourns@westhartfordlaw.com
ph:(860) 232-4471
fax:(860) 523-4605

Margaret M. Bozek, JD
Kantor, Mickelson & Meyers, PC
330 Roberts St., Ste. 100
PO Box 280748
East Hartford, CT 06128
mbozek@kmm-law-eh.com
ph: (860) 282-2222
fax: (860) 289-1264
Jill B. Brakeman, JD
174 West Street
Litchfield, CT 06759
jill.brakeman@snet.net
ph:(860) 567-3404
fax:(860) 567-9140


Harold Brienes, Attorney at Law
Brienes Law Firm
ADDRESS: 360 Fairfield Avenue, P.O. Box 6075, Bridgeport, CT 06606
TEL: 203-373-1381 FAX: 203-373-1382
http://humanedivorce.com 
brielaw@snet.net
ph: (203) 332-0049
fax: (203) 333-8374
www.brieneslawfirm.com

Alice Bruno, JD, MSW
Edmonds & Bruno, P.C.
52 Harrison Avenue
PO Box 807
Branford, CT 06405
ph:(203) 488-1000
fax:(203) 488-1200

 



Nancy Burke, JD
Mediation Solutions
215 Main St.
Westport, CT 06880
burke71@earthlink.net
ph: (888) 241-8121
fax: (203) 219-1815

Christina P. Burnham, JD
Law Offices of William A. Childress
210 Main St.
Old Saybrook, CT 06475-2333
attorneyburnham@yahoo.com
ph: (860) 388-4464
fax: (860) 395-0412

M. Christine Burt, JD
Law Offices of Edward C. Burt, Jr., PC
2583 Whitney Ave.
Hamden, CT 06518
mcburt87@hotmail.com
ph: (203) 248-2182
fax: (203) 248-9466
Susan V. Busby, Esq.
Louden Legal Group, LLC
638 Prospect Ave.
Hartford, CT 06105
sbusby@loudenlegalgroup.com
ph: (860) 231-7756
fax: (860) 231-7425

C

Frances Z. Calafiore, JD [CCDM Past President]
Attorney Mediator
Collaborative Counsel
55 Airport Road
Hartford, CT 06114
Additional office: 110 Whitney Ave.
New Haven, CT 06510
ph:(203) 562-6622 (New Haven)
fax:(203) 624-3798 (New Haven)
calfran@juno.com
ph:(860) 296-1555
fax:(860) 296-5910
Lisa J. Cappalli, JD
Lisa J. Cappalli, Esq., LLC
325 Highland Avenue, Suite 201
Cheshire, CT 06410
lcappalli@abanet.org
ph: 203-271-3888
fax:203-271-3850
Connie Cohen, ACSW, LCSW
P.O. Box 3512
Westport, CT 06880-8512
lcswcbc@cs.com
ph:(203) 454-6722
fax:(203) 387-0111
Ann P. Coonley, Attorney at Law - Divorce Mediator
27 Elm Street
New Haven, CT 06510
Additional Office: 1980 Main Street
Stratford, CT 06615
anncoonley@aol.com
ph: (203) 773-1589 (New Haven)
ph: (203) 386-8008 (Stratford)
fax: (203) 776-1222
Monika D. Cornell, Esq.
129 Opening Hill Road
Madison, CT 06443
monika.cornell@comcast.net
ph: 203-318-0533
fax: 203-318-0533
www.DivorceMediationConnecticut.com

F

Patricia C. Farrell, JD
Resolution Through Mediation
141 Broad St.
Middletown, CT 06457
pfarrell@fgb-law.com
ph: (860) 344-1767
fax: (860) 347-9038
Mark J. Ferraro, JD, LLM
Lewis, Lewis & Ferraro
5 Maple St.
Bristol, CT 06010
Additional office: 28 North Main St.
West Hartford, CT 06107
ph: (860) 464-6363
fax: (860) 521-4500
Valerie Fischel, MA, JD
Attorney Mediator
P.O. Box 5082
Westport, CT 06881
vsfischel@aol.com
ph:(203) 454-5504
fax: (203) 454-5504
WEB: www.divorcesolutions.com
Byron R. Fisher, LCSW
682 Prospect Ave.
Hartford, CT 06105
fbyr@sbcglobal.net
ph: (860) 985-3036
fax: (860) 233-8571
Joseph S. France, MFT
108 Merrow Rd.
Coventry, CT 06238
gandjfrance@cshore.com
ph: (860) 742-3144
Leslie Freedman, Ph.D.
Ctr. for Divorce Mediation & Family Services
500 Newfield Ave., Ste. B
Stamford, CT 06905
nfreedma@ix.netcom.com
ph:(203) 978-0900
Resa Fremed, Ed.D, LMFT
New England Counseling & Mediation
898 Ethan Allen Highway
Ridgefield, CT 06877
resafremed@aol.com
ph:(203) 431-4957
fax:(203) 431-7984
Nancy Segore Freshman, JD, Attorney at Law
120 Post Road West
PO Box 2065
Westport, CT 06880
nesflaw@aol.com
ph:(203) 222-8686
fax:(203) 222-8857
www.freshmanlaw.com
Roberta S. Friedman, JD, Attorney at Law
383 Orange Street
New Haven, CT 06511
rsfriedman@snet.net
ph:(203) 776-9002
fax:(203) 787-3259
WEB: www.friedmanmediate.com


G

Mark Jay Gang, Ph.D.
52 Beach Rd.
Fairfield, CT 06430
rbsgang@aol.com
ph: (203) 254-2000
fax: (203) 255-3126
Nancy L. Gardner, CSW
Ridgefield, CT 06877
Additional Office: Katonah, NY 10536
amcr1@optonline.net
ph: (914) 232-4970
fax: (914) 767-0104
Miriam Gardner-Frum, MSW, JD
261 Williams St.
New London, CT 06320
m.gardner-frum@sbcglobal.net
ph: (860) 440-3933
fax: (860) 442-8353
Christine Gaudio, LCSW
664 Farmington Ave.
Hartford, CT 06105
cgaudio@aol.com
ph: (860) 232-0057
fax: (860) 233-6160
Edward Gebelein, Jr.
Southbury Mediation
PO Box 966
Winsted, CT 06098
mediator@snet.net
ph: (860) 738-4825
Richard Gee, JD
PO Box 4102
Yalesville, CT 06492
atty.gee@snet.net
ph: (203) 265-7073
FAX: (203) 265-9744
www.snetyp.com/gee
James Greenfield, JD
Tyler Cooper & Alcorn, LLP
205 Church Street
PO Box 1936
New Haven, CT 06509-1910
greenfield@tylercooper.com
ph:(203) 784-8239
fax:(203) 777-1181

Roger J. Grenier
Mediation Solutions
215 Main St.
Westport, CT 06880
roggren@aol.com
ph: (888) 241-8121


H

Kate Haakonsen, JD
Brown, Paindiris & Scott, LLP
2252 Main Street
Glastonbury, CT 06033
khaakonsen@bpslawyers.com
ph:(860) 659-0700
fax:(860) 652-4382
www.bpslawyers.com
Monica L. Harper, Esq.
Harper & Harper
21 Oak Street
Hartford, CT 06106
ml.harper@sbcglobal.net
ph:(860) 560-1600
fax:(860) 560-1029
www.lawyers.com
Marjorie Glosband Hart, ACSW, LCSW
134 High Meadow Rd.
Guilford, CT 06437
ph:(203) 453-9977
Mary C. Healey, Esq.
Attorney at Law, LLC
126 Storrs Rd., PO Box 703
Mansfield Center, CT 06250
atty.mary.healey@snet.net
ph: (860) 450-1810
fax: (860) 450-1984
Donald Hiebel, Ph.D. [Co-Pres. Elect, CCDM, 2004-05]
300 Plaza Middlesex, 3rd Fl.
Middletown, CT 06457
hiebelfamily.child@snet.net
ph:(860) 347-9911
fax:(860) 347-8120
William K. Hoefer, J.D.
51 Amogerone Crossway
Greenwich, CT 06830
Additional office: 4191 East Tremont Avenue
Bronx, NY 10465
ph:(718) 928-9968 (NY)
bill@2canwin.com
ph:(203) 409-3932
fax: (203) 409-3933
Robert A. Horwitz, Ph.D.
836 Howard Avenue
New Haven, CT 06519
rhorwitz@ziplink.net
ph:(203) 789-1086
fax:(203) 789-8014
Jocelyn Hurwitz, Esq. [Secretary, CCDM, 2004-05]
Cohen and Wolf, PC
1115 Broad Street
Bridgeport, CT 06604
jhurwitz@cohenandwolf.com
ph:(203) 368-0211
fax:(203) 394-9901


I


Diana L. Insolio, JD
Attorney at Law
129-B Samson Rock Dr.
Madison, CT 06443
dinsolio@earthlink.net


J

Ira A. Jacobs, JD
Kantor, Mickelson & Meyers, PC
330 Robers Street
PO Box 280748
East Hartford, CT 06128
ijacobs@kmm-law-eh.com
ph: (860) 272-2222
fax: (860) 289-1264
Susan Jacobs, Attorney at Law
261 Bradley Street
New Haven, CT 06510
sljlawyer@aol.com
ph:(203) 772-6680
fax:(203) 772-2994

K

Professor Carolyn Wilkes Kaas, J.D.
Quinnipiac University School of Law
275 Mount Carmel Avenue
Hamden, CT 06518
carolyn.kaas@quinnipiac.edu
Ph: (203) 582-3234
fax: (203) 582-3237
Wm. Bradley Kellogg, JD
1 Eliot Place
Fairfield, CT 06824
wbrad@attglobal.net
ph: (203) 254-1190
fax:(203) 255-0674
Richard H. Kosinski, JD
106 Farmington Avenue, Suite 2B
New Britain, CT 06053
rikosin@att.net
ph:(860) 224-7115
fax:(860) 224-7116

L

Marcia Lebowitz, MSW
Children's Divorce Center
88 Bradley Rd.
Woodbridge, CT 06525
ph: (203) 387-8887
fax: (203) 382-7721
Shannon O'Neill Louden, Esq.
Louden Legal Group, LLC
638 Prospect Ave
Hartford, CT 06105
slouden@loudenlegalgroup.com
ph:(860) 231-7819
fax: (860) 231-7425
WEB: www.loudenlegalgroup.com
Wm. Bruce Louden, Esq.
Louden Legal Group, LLC
638 Prospect Ave
Hartford, CT 06105
blouden@loudenlegalgroup.com
ph:(860) 231-7938
fax: (860) 231-7425
WEB: www.loudenlegalgroup.com
Jennifer Luise-Champagne, MA, LPC
Birmingham Group Health Services
435 East Main St.
Ansonia, CT 06410
jchampagne@bghealth.org
ph: (203) 736-2601
fax: (203) 736-2910

M

Mary Marcus, Ph.D.
Center for Divorce Mediation
2 Park St.
Norwalk, CT 06851
mgmphd@sbcglobal.net
ph:(203) 847-3369
fax:(203) 454-0404
Attorney Walter Marcus
Center for Divorce Mediation
10 Wall Street, PO Box 326
Norwalk, CT 06852
zwmz@optonline.com
ph:(203) 854-9394
fax:(203) 454-0404
www.divorcemediation.norwalk.ct.us
Kathleen Martin, JD
Scully, Nicksa, Martin & Reeve
79 Main Street
PO Box 278
Unionville, CT 06085
scully.nicksa@snet.net
ph:(860) 673-7141
fax:(860) 675-8955
Louise A. McGlynn, J.D.
Law Office of Louise A. McGlynn
5 Darbrook Road
Westport, CT 06880
GlynnLaw1@aol.com
ph: (203) 226-2343
fax: (203 226-6875
Anita McPherson, MSW, LCSW
60 Washington Ave., Ste. 203
Hamden, CT 06518
mcpian@optonline.net
ph: (203) 766-1736
fax: 203) 288-3655
William Mecca, LCSW, LASC, LMFT
547 Evergreen Ave.
Hamden, CT 06518
wfm547@localnet.com
ph:(203) 281-7699
Jeffrey Mickelson
Kantor, Mickelson & Meyers, PC
330 Roberts St., Ste. 100
East Hartford, CT 06108
jmickelson@kmm-law-eh.com
ph: (860) 282-2222
fax: (860) 289-1264
John Miller, JD
Conn. Center for Divorce Mediation
750 Hopmeadow Street
Simsbury, CT 06070
millerlaw2@comcast.net
ph:(860) 658-3050
fax:(860) 651-8484
Karlene Mitchell, MBA, CDP
Financial Wings, LLC
128 East Ave.
Norwalk, CT 06851
kmitchell@financialwings.com
ph:(203) 866-9900
fax:(203) 866-6767
www.financialwings.com

Patricia Modzelewski, JD
10 Pearl St.
PO Box 37
New London, CT 06320
Additional Office: 6 Business Park Rd.
Old Saybrook, CT 06475
patti@peck-tuneski.com
ph: (860) 447-3370 (New London)
ph: (860) 395-1811 (Old Saybrook)
fax: (860) 447-3150

Eve Moskowitz, LCSW, MSW
FamilyTransitions
179 Post Rd. West
ekmoskowitz@aol.com
Westport, CT 06880
ph: (203) 341-9860
fax: (203) 227-0786

N

Peter J. Nagle, CDS, MAR
421 Meadow Street
Fairfield, CT 06824
pjnagle@fairfieldfinancial.net
ph:(203) 335-3111
fax:(203) 366-1227
WEB: www.fairfieldfinancial.net
Eliot J. Nerenberg, Esq.
Law Offices of Eliot J. Nerenberg
10 North Main Street, Suite 214
West Hartford, CT 06107
enerenberg@rcn.com
ph:(860) 232-4881
fax:(860) 233-5478
Robert Nicola, JD
Owens, Schine & Nicola
799 Silver Lane
Trumbull, CT 06611-0753
rjn@osn-pc.com
ph:(203) 375-0600
fax:(203) 375-5003

Deborah Noonan, Esq.
10 Wall St.
Norwalk, CT 06851
noonandeborah@msn.com
ph: (203) 246-4741
fax: (203) 849-9584

Lory Nurenberg, LCSW, MSW
FamilyTransitions
179 Post Rd. West
Westport, CT 06880
lorynurenberg@yahoo.com
ph: (203) 341-9860
fax: (203) 227-0786

P

Michael Paprocki
New England Divorce Education Center
92 Williams St.
Norwich, CT 06360
mpaprocki@snet.net
ph:(860) 887-9580
fax:(860) 887-4127
Paul J. Piasecki, CPA, CDFA, CDS [Treas., CCDM, 2004-05]
Piasecki & Company, CPAs, LLC
53 Old Kings Highway North
Darien, CT 06820
cpa990@aol.com
ph: (203) 655-6805
fax: (203) 655-9943
Donald Polansky, MSW, LCSW
Roeder & Polansky Family and Child Assoc.
300 Plaza Middlesex
Middletown, CT 06457
dplan1888@aol.com
ph:(860) 347-9911
fax: (860) 347-8120
Wendy E. Prince, JD
Greenberg & Prince
350 Bedford Street, Suite 301
Stamford, CT 06901
wendyprinceesq@aol.com
ph:(203) 977-7766
fax:(203) 977-7042
WEB: www.wendyprince.com

R

Bonnie Robson, MEd, JD
2475 Albany Ave., Ste. 204
West Hartford, CT 06117
brobsonmediate@aol.com
ph:(860) 586-8854
fax: (860) 586-8942
Alan Rubenstein, JD
Halloran & Sage, LLC
315 Post Rd., West
Westport, CT 06880
rubenstein@halloran-sage.com
ph: (203) 227-2855 x244
fax: (203) 227-6992
Elaine Rubinson, JD, MSW
Cahill Law Offices
525 Bridgeport Avenue
Shelton, CT 06484
erubinson@aol.com
ph:(203) 926-8889
fax:(203) 925-0523
Daniel B. Ryan
Ryan and Ryan, PC
46 Washington Street
Middletown, CT 06457
ryan01@snet.net
ph:(860) 346-8663
fax:(860) 346-0415

S

Linda A. Schlapfer
200 Railroad Ave.
Greenwich, CT 06830
lschlapfer@aol.com
ph: (203) 561-7783

Maurice Segall, JD
Mediation Solutions
733 Summer Street, Suite 302
Stamford, CT 06901
msegall@optonline.net
ph:(203) 359-1999
fax:(203) 348-7744
Gail Shapiro, MA
Connecticut Mediation
P.O. Box 7381
Wilton, CT 06897-7381
Gailshap@optonline.net
ph: (203) 834-7564
fax: (203) 761-8770
WEB: www.connecticutmediation.com
Nancy Sienkiewicz
Sienkiewicz & McKenna
9 South Main St.
PO Box 786
New Milford, CT 06776
tolsma@aol.com
ph: (860) 354-1583
fax: (860) 355-4439
Robert E. Simpson, Esq.
39 Kings Hwy.
PO Box 115
Gales Ferry, CT 06335
rsimpsonlaw@aol.com
ph: (860) 464-6363
fax: (860) 464-2613
Susan K. Smith
Law Office of Attorney Susan K. Smith
39 Russ Street
Hartford, CT 06106
suesmith@smith-lawfirm.com
ph:(860) 297-0035
fax:(860) 297-0040
WEB: www.smith-lawfirm.com
Barbara Kahn Stark, JD
110 Whitney Avenue, 2nd Floor
New Haven, CT 06510
bstark@ctmediate.com
ph:(203) 562-6622
fax: (203) 624-3798
www.ctmediate.com
Prof. James Stark, JD
UConn Law School
65 Elizabeth Street
Hartford, CT 06105
jstark@law.uconn.edu
ph:(860) 570-5278
fax: (860) 570-5242
Robert Terhune Stewart, MS, JD, MA-MFT
Canal House
128 Garden Street
Farmington, CT 06032
rtstewart@thefamilymediator.com
ph: (860) 674-1788
fax: (860) 828-4144
www.thefamilymediator.com
Ellie J. Stoddard, JD [President, CCDM, 2004-05]
17 Kathleen Drive
Stratford, CT 06614
ejstoddard@aol.com
ph:(203) 377-4514
fax:(203) 375-5314
WEB:www.ct-divorce-mediation.com
Lauren Easman Strickland, MFT, JD
29 East Main Street
Westport, CT 06880
lesmediate@aol.com
ph:(203) 319-2811
fax:(203) 222-8569
Leslie Strong, Ph.D.
Marriage & Family Therapist
70 Mountain Laurel Way
Portland, CT 06280
lestrong@comcast.net
ph:(860) 342-5760
fax:(860) 342-5760

T

Elizabeth S. Thayer, Ph.D.
Beacon Behavioral Services
40 Dale Rd.
Avon, CT 06001
ethayer@beaconbehavioral.com
ph: (860) (860) 676-9350 x12
fax: (860) 678-7178

V

Lili Vasileff, Certified Financial Planner
Money Matters!
26 Maple Vale Drive
Additional office: 2 Sound View Dr., Ste. 100
Greenwich, CT 06830
ph:(203) 622-4911 (Greenwich)
lvasileff@aol.com
Woodbridge, CT 06525
ph:(203) 393-7200
fax: (203) 622-0321
Vicki Volper, JD, LLM
PO Box 2113
Westport, CT 06880
volperv@aol.com
ph: (203) 222-1202
fax: (203) 222-1202
www.volpermediation.com
Jeffrey Von Kohorn, Ph.D.
215 Main Street
Westport, CT 06880-3210
drjeff@vonkohorn.com
ph:(203) 226-4000
fax:(203) 341-9440
Georgia von Schmidt, JD
3 Tokeneke Rd., PO Box 1762
Darien, CT 06820-1762
gvonschmidt@yahoo.com
ph:(203) 656-4777
fax:(203) 655-5153

W

Susan W. Wakefield, JD
10 Wall Street
Norwalk, CT 06850
suewjd@aol.com
ph:(203) 855-0711
fax:(203) 855-1226
M. Katherine Webster-O'Keefe, JD
72 PArk Lane
PO Box 1747
New Milford, CT 06776
mkwo@websterokeefelaw.com
ph: (860) 350-5009
fax: (860) 355-8627
Dawn Werneck, MSW
Family Mediation Works
PO Box 871
Bristol, CT 06011-0871
dwerneck@sbcglobal.net
ph: 860-202-4749
Carol Widing, JD, MEd
Attorney / Mediator
20 West Main Street, Ste. 4
Avon, CT 06001
cwid@snet.net
ph:(860) 678-8401
fax:(860) 676-0688

Y


Z

Jeffrey Zimmerman, Ph.D.
Beacon Behavioral Services
40 Dale Rd., Ste. 201
Avon, CT 06001
jeffzimmerman@beaconbehavioral.com
ph: (860) (860) 676-9350 x17
fax: (860) 678-7178

Disclaimer - All information is provided as a service to the residents of the US.  No certification as to the validity of the information given is either expressed or implied.*

Contact us to update information at http://DivorceMediation.us  Please e-mail us: webmaster@divorcemediation.us

Search Query

Divorce Mediation - Divorce Mediation and Divorce Mediators

© 2001-2009 - DivorceMediation.us - All rights reserved.